Home » Server Options » Replication » cannot add snapshot object to snapshot group
cannot add snapshot object to snapshot group [message #75031] Mon, 19 March 2001 08:41 Go to next message
Harry
hi there. i need someone with replication experience/troubleshooting to help me out.

my environment: RedHat 6.2 Oracle 8i 8.1.6 Standard Edition

the situation:

1. i have a single master site (PROD1) and one snapshot site (PROD2). the init.ora parameters are ok.

2. on master site (PROD1), i have created repadmin and granted all the priviledges. i created scott and had emp and dept. i created a master group (scott_mg) and add emp and dept into the master group successfully. i created snapshot log on emp and dept. i did a query on all_repobject and the status of all objects is valid.

3. my problem is on snapshot site (PROD2). i have same repadmin and scott, same priviledges and have created public and private db links. i logged in repadmin and scott and did a select * from scott.emp@PROD1 and it returned all the data. i created the snapshot group (scott_mg) by running the procedure "

SQL> begin
dbms_repcat.create_snapshot_repgroup (
gname=>'scott_mg',
master=>'PROD1',
propagation_mode=>'asynchronous');
end;
/ 2 3 4 5 6 7

PL/SQL procedure successfully completed.

however when i tried to create the snapshot i received the following error message:

SQL> begin
dbms_repcat.create_snapshot_repobject (
gname=>'scott_mg',
sname=>'scott',
oname=>'dept',
type=>'snapshot',
ddl_text=>'create snapshot scott.dept refresh fast start with sysdate next
sysdate + (1/1440) for update as select * from scott.dept@PROD1',
min_communication=>true);
end;
/ 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
begin
ERROR at line 1:
ORA-23308: object SCOTT.DEPT does not exist or is invalid
ORA-06512: at "SYS.DBMS_SYS_ERROR", line 95
ORA-06512: at "SYS.DBMS_REPCAT_SNA_UTL", line 4370
ORA-06512: at "SYS.DBMS_REPCAT_SNA_UTL", line 5158
ORA-06512: at "SYS.DBMS_REPCAT_SNA", line 82
ORA-06512: at "SYS.DBMS_REPCAT", line 1076